Swami Nirviseshananda Tirtha

10 – Bhagavad Gita – Chapter 18 – by Swami Nirviseshananda Tirtha – The Way to Freedom

6 Views | 1 year ago

In this talk, Swami Nirviseshananda Tirtha reinforces the fact that any action that we undertake has five constituents namely: 1)Adhisthanam, 2) the karta or the ego sense which drives one to perform, 3) Sense organs and the karmendriyas, the vital forces, 4) Effort and 5) Providence, which is unpredictable.

Swamiji explains that a person of pure intelligence who performs with the knowledge that he is not the doer and identifies himself with Brahman or Consciousness, will not be bound by any outcome of his actions. On the other hand, a person who is deluded and believes that he is the doer will be affected by the results of his action.

Sri Krishna explains the threefold persuasion for any action--knowledge, the object to be known and the knower. He describes these three in the light of the three gunas--sattvika, rajasa and tamasa.

Swamiji analyses the classification of knowledge and brings clarity to the listeners. Sattvika knowledge is that which enables us to see the undivided and unfragmented unity in all the diversity. Rajasa knowledge is that which makes one see plurality and separateness which gives rise to selfishness and desires. Tamasa knowledge is that which makes one fixated or cling to one issue, oblivious to the Truth. A tamasa mind also is given to irrational thinking.

Shlokas Discussed: 14 to 21

Whatsapp: +91 8547960362
Subscribe to our newsletter:

from the ashram diary


  • The Importance of Prasthana Trayam

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

  • Divinize Every Moment III

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

  • Surrender Your Mind and Intelligence to God

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

  • The Eternal Relevance of Vedas and Epics

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

  • Sadhana Means Search, Sadhana Means Research

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

  • Attitude in Devotion

    Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha

All audio resources arrow-round